Ruins of a Gothic castle with attached Renaissance chateau stands on a small hill in the middle of the plane, from where it originally was divided moat. Located north of the city. Originally, there was lowland castle with a moat, which is preserved in the form of lakes. Castle was built in 1312 around the watchtower at Považska way. He belonged to the royal property, in 1433 the Hussites, but was later occupied Jiskrovci. Bastion on the castle above the outpost guard itself Castle. In 1709 there was a battle and the castle was badly damaged. The castle burned down in 1803 and restored only mansion. The upper castle in 1930, partly to ensure against disintegration. The castle is the seat of a branch Liptov Museum and the Ethnographic Museum Liptov.
History of the castle
During its history was battered and Hussites occupied Jiskrovci. In the 16th century castle belonged to the property Magdalene Zaiovej. She gave the castle to build a Renaissance mansion, with two wings. At the time of uprisings played Castle Liptovsky Hradok strategic importance to the imperial army in the fight against insurgents Francis Rákóczi II. In the 18th century imperial soldiers withstood the onslaught, but the surrounding villages - Vavrišovo, Liptovsky Peter and the Holy Spirit were devastated. The castle suffered extensive damage. And in 1803 the castle engulfed in fire, and was destroyed almost to the ground. After the fire was resumed only its lower part - that mansion. The remainder of the castle is from that time in ruins. Lived here and the district court and prison. In the 20th some of the Century conserved. From 1960 to 1990, the castle became the space used by the Ethnographic Museum.
The castle was originally built only one wing in the west - east. In the 15th century was docked new wing. To present to maintain the facade of a number of openings of windows, entry, bay window. Outside the mansion has a strong supporting pillars.
The tie in the past found moat, which is now built buildings. Passage into the courtyard of the castle belongs to the original design fortifications of the castle and its gateway. Gradual increase footprint is visually unified Prussian baroque vaults. The interior of the castle is partially reconstructed. The rooms are historical portraits and paintings adorning the walls of the castle.
Since 2001, the castle Liptovsky Hradok owned Máchová Dagmar, who bought the castle and the castle. In areas manor set up a luxury hotel. Currently, the owner also focused on renovating ruins. Castle can see the outside, the weekend is possible, in agreement with the owner, to see the other facilities and upgraded interiors. The gateway is running a restaurant and later will be available to the court.
In addition to the castle Liptovsky Hradok tourists can honor his visit and the Ethnographic Museum in Liptovsky. Visitors have a unique opportunity to see a unique exhibition in Europe. It is an exhibition gallery and sheep-farming folk art objects. Near Liptovsky castle in the village Pribylina is widespread Museum - Museum liptov village. Objects made of several traditional liptov villages with wooden folk architecture. For lovers of not only history, but also nature, it is recommended Arboretum Liptovsky Castle. Arboretum was announced on 20 century cultural monument in the park Castle Mountain.
Castle Liptovsky Hradok captures a piece of history not only Liptov region, but also nationwide. Its current state allows visitors to the castle and room and board. Liptovsky Hradok Castle is situated in the charming place in touch of nature.