The castle stands on a steep hill quartzite dunes 514 m on the southern slope of the mountain Tribeč, about 5 km north of the village deer, a prominent feature of the surroundings. Build it gave the site of the old fort Ivankov's son Andrew, a participant in the Battle of salty. Silhouette of a medieval castle model face-preserved parts of the outer walls of buildings and structures castles and fortifications.
Access to the ruins Gýmeš
Tourists can get to the castle after walking path from the village deer. Output after this route takes about 2 hours. The fastest 30 minutes but can be accessed from the village Kostoľany under Tribečom neoznačnej the road. More interesting is the way the red and then green trail from the recreation center deer-Remitáž. The route takes about an hour and passes Gaštanica. From Remitáž leads the yellow sign over the cold castle. This route should be used by tourists who want to admire the view and the surrounding areas.
Written mention of the castle dates back to the 12th century Zobor. Gýmeš was built by Andrew, son komes Ivanku from an old aristocratic family Hunt-Poznan. Gýmeš served as a refuge and protection as gender valuables.
The courtyard is shaped like a triangle and on the south side of the tower was built Defence and residential functions. In the 13th Century Tower was built next and between the two towers were built palaces. During the ownership of the family Forgach castle has undergone extensive construction - new palaces, a cylindrical tower and a large trapezoidal tower footprint, also extended fortification. In the 17th century was built on the south side of the new durable fortifications and cannon towers. Despite the strengthening of fortified castle was conquered by the Turks several times-between 1663 and 1671 after the conquest of new locks to Gýmeš seized the castle and looted. The castle was restored again - part of the fortifications, palaces and gateway. and at that time focused on building and church. Ignatius with two side chapels and the family tomb in the basement. In 1722 you gave Paul Forge village under the castle built Baroque mansion set into a natural park with rare trees. Gýmeš became uninhabited in the 19th centuries after the fire, which broke out there. Since that time, the castle remained only ruins, which fell into disrepair. And even the stone walls of the parts used in the construction of sugar. Last Forgách emigrated in the early 20th century in Hungary.
Once so thriving castle from the construction industry currently rabble. Retain only the outer walls of the castle and construction of buildings, fortifications, opening windows and inputs.
It is said that in the past, yet Gýmeš welcomed - paddle dance, which consists of four paddle strokes. Tourists need to ensure that this tradition continues dodnes.V resorts are built several outbreaks. Visitors can spend the day in true nature.
Near the castle is also cold castle, which folded in the 13th century, but on foot, where once stood cold castle is charming views. And a little further about 6km from the Gýmeš is Čakýň ranch, where visitors can enjoy horseback riding and various attractions.