Fiľakovo and surrounding landscape Cerová highlands was already inhabited in prehistoric times. In the 12th century. has stood on the site of the castle hill probably representing a stone fortress castle wall with packaging and four-side tower, with a wooden palisade and rampart. The first written mention dates from 1242, in which Fiľakovský castle is mentioned as one of the castles that survived Tatar raids. In 1423 Fiľakovo obtained town privileges. The castle had many owners. The castle was mentioned as a royal. The castle was extended to the middle castle with a pair of massive pentagonal bastions. Furthermore, the port moat wall with a pair of bastions. To this day the only preserved part of the courtyard and the west gate. 16th June 1554, the Turks finally captured the castle. Turks Castle joined the Turkish Empire and the castle was divided. In the 17th century. become established komitátov. Historical and archaeological research conducted castle Hungarian National Museum in Budapest in 1944 under the leadership of dr. Janos Kalmár.
Fiľakovský castle was built in the 12th century and originally formed by square tower, and palace wall Circuit - fortification. During its history was in the hands of several owners. Among the most famous owners belonged Matus Cak of Trencin, who owned a castle in the years 1311-21. Later, the castle becomes a royal property and the first half of the 15th century fell into an ambush Perényovcom family, a few years later becomes a dominion John sparkle. At the end of the 15th century castle conquered king Matthias Corvinus, who commissioned the report castle captain Raškaia. Castle even served as the seat of the Turks, who it in 16 century conquered, after nearly 40 years of use Turku Castle to Castle imperial troops managed to get back. Bocskayovské troops occupied it. There have been years of unrest between power groups - Castle becomes the place where they fought bethlenovci and Captain Francis Wesselényi. For Thököly Uprising, the castle was besieged and help the Turks after the first failed conquest finally managed to get the castle. However, a fire devastated the castle and the remains of this historic moment in ruins.
Today, the castle ruins have undergone major conservation and restoration took place at Bebek Bastion, which since 2008 has been established exposure history of the castle and the town, called "Centuries Fiľakovo castle". The subject of the exhibition is to acquaint visitors with the history of the castle and town. Visitors can admire the valuable medieval findings - the original keys of the castle, objects from the period of Turkish occupation and many other unique pieces.
Fiľakovský castle offers several interesting attractions - apart from the very ruins of a complex nature trail and part of the castle bastion particularly in Bebek are located historical exposition. Castle is a great tip for a weekend trip.